Underage drinking in North Carolina is a serious offense. Anyone under the age of 21 consuming or carrying any type of alcohol can result in an underage drinking ticket. The legal limit in North Carolina is 0.08% alcohol content, if you’re under 21, any amount of alcohol in a minor will result in a ticket.
What is the penalty for drinking under the age of 21?
A person under the age of 21 is prohibited from attempting to purchase or consume an alcoholic beverage. Once convicted, a report will be sent to the Division of Motor Vehicles and the Division will revoke the minor’s driver’s license.
Penalties for underage drinking charges in North Carolina may include:
- Up to 120 days of jail time
- Losing your driver’s license
- Fines and financial penalties ($200 – $500)
- Court costs
- Community service
- Alcohol/substance abuse courses
- Additional penalties by the university or academic institution (if drinking happened on campus)
Can you go to jail for drinking under 21?
North Carolina has a Zero-Tolerance when it comes to underage drinking. If an individual is arrested for drinking under the age of 21, they will receive a misdemeanor with a requirement of community service and court fines.
If the person is under the age of 19, they will receive a Class 1 Misdemeanor, and punishment can include a fine in the discretion of the judge, community service hours, and a $250 fee or jail, plus court costs of $180.
How much is a ticket for a minor in possession of alcohol?
Using a fake ID: It is illegal to use someone else’s ID to enter a licensed establishment that sells alcohol. Adults are also prohibited from providing their identifications to minors to use to purchase alcohol according to NC Statute 18B-302e&f.
Aiding other minors: Helping another minor obtain alcohol is forbidden and can result in a Class 2 misdemeanor (up to $1,000 in fines). Any adult that helps minors in obtaining alcohol can be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor (up to 50 days of community punishment (probation), plus fines.)
How can we help?
At the Day Law Firm, all of our legal professionals have the utmost integrity. We work hard to get you the best legal results you deserve. We can help you resolve your underage drinking ticket. Our Greenville team of lawyers are available for a consultation by calling (252)-321-5555. Don’t hesitate to call, we are here to help you.